Skip to content ↓



The Faculty Structure at Ashmole Academy consists of seven faculties, each one containing one or more departments.

Each faculty is managed by an Assistant or Deputy Head Teacher or equivalent.

Information regarding each of the faculties and the subjects delivered within them may be found in this section as well as links to examples of subject specific curriculum pillars, curriculum maps and a summary of the homework tasks set during the academic year.

As part of our ongoing work developing the curriculum, we introduced curriculum pillars to students in September 2022 in recognition of the fact that different academic disciplines have different knowledge structures with distinctive yet shifting traditions.

The curriculum pillars are designed to make explicit the purpose of each discipline and the key components of each subject. This provides a shared language for conversations about progress at subject level. The curriculum pillars are referred to in every lesson to enable students to put learning activities into context and make links between subjects.

The curriculum pillars make clear the end points each subject curriculum is building towards and provide a framework for the planning and sequencing of learning, so that new knowledge and skills build on what has been taught before. This can be seen on the curriculum maps.

"The support teachers give to pupils also contributes significantly to learning." Ofsted 2021